Alumni Awards

The Uni High Alumni Office currently honor recipients in three award categories:

Max Beberman Memorial Distinguished Alumni Award

The Beberman award was established in honor of the late Max Beberman, whose distinguished career as a math educator brought him international renown. During his tenure at University Laboratory High School from 1950 to 1971 he founded and developed the University of Illinois Committee on School Mathematics (UICSM) which significantly altered the teaching of mathematics around the world. Max is remembered as being a fantastic teacher whose forte was enabling students to discover for themselves the new math ideas for which he is famous.

2018 recipient: Janet Dobrovolny

For past recipients or the award form, click here.

Wylde Q. Chicken Award (Class of 1972)

Each year, the alumni of the class of 1972 present an award that is unique to Uni: the Wylde Q. Chicken Spontaneous Generation Award for Coloring Outside the Lines. This award recognizes Uni students who have demonstrated spontaneous creativity, "thinking outside the box," doing something extraordinary when circumstances only call for the ordinary. Congratulations Steve Rayburn, the 2017 Wylde Q. Chicken Award recipient.

Rising Star Award

Rising Star recipient: Helen Estabrook

The Uni High Rising Star award recognizes Uni High alumni who have demonstrated leadership in their field, in service to the school or the community.

Congratulations Helen Estabrook, the 2018 Rising Star recipient.

Footer with a Search Form